Twitter icon
Facebook icon

Julie Krone

Julie Krone
Induction Year: 
July 24, 1963, Benton Harbor, Mich.
Career Years: 
Number of Mounts: 
Number of Winners: 
Winning Percentage: 

Tab Wrapper


Julieann Louise Krone, born July 24, 1963, in Benton Harbor, Mich., made Thoroughbred racing history more than once during her three decades of competition.


In 1987, Krone was the first woman to win a riding title at a major racetrack, beginning a run of championships at Monmouth Park, Meadowlands, and Atlantic City, then later at Gulfstream Park and the prestigious spring meeting at Belmont Park.


In 1993, Krone became the first woman to ride the winner of an American Triple Crown event when she partnered with Colonial Affair to win the 125th running of the Belmont Stakes.


Krone became the first woman inducted into the Hall of Fame of the National Museum of Racing in August of 2000. She followed that in 2003 by becoming the first woman to win a Breeders’ Cup race on the championship day, with Alain and Gerard Wertheimer’s Halfbridled in the Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Fillies.


Krone retired from riding in early 2004 after winning 3,704 races, while her mounts earned purses totaling more than $90 million. In addition to Colonial Affair and Halfbridled, the best-known of Krone’s runners included champion Rubiano, Hall of Famers Safely Kept and Housebuster, and the major stakes winners Candy Ride, Tale of the Cat, Peaks and Valleys, Da Hoss, Sweet Return, Redatorre, Lite the Fuse, Royal Mountain Inn, and Classy Mirage.


Krone’s collection of major victories also included the Man o’ War, Hollywood Derby, Sword Dancer Invitational, Molson Million, Arlington Classic, Vosburgh Stakes, Carter Handicap, Diana Handicap, Del Mar Futurity, Oak Leaf Stakes, Fountain of Youth, Malibu Stakes, Del Mar Debutante, two runnings each of the Shadwell Turf Mile and Queen Elizabeth Challenge Invitational, and three editions of the Jersey Derby.


Krone has been honored outside the Thoroughbred racing world as well. She is a member of the Cowgirl Hall of Fame in Ft. Worth, Texas, the Michigan Sports Hall of Fame, and the National Women’s Hall of Fame in Seneca Falls, N.Y. She also received the 1993 ESPY Award as Female Athlete of the Year, the 2001 Wilma Rudolph Courage Award from the Women’s Sports Foundation, and the 2016 Amelia Earhart Pioneering Achievement Award. Krone and the famous aviator share the same July 24 birthdate.