Twitter icon
Facebook icon

Jimmy Bell, Christopher Boehning and G.D. Hieronymus join National Museum of Racing and Hall of Fame's Board of Trustees

Jimmy Bell, Christopher Boehning and G.D. Hieronymus have been appointed to the National Museum of Racing and Hall of Fame Board of Trustees. The appointments were announced by Gretchen Jackson, president of the National Museum of Racing and Hall of Fame.


Bell is the president of Godolphin America, a position he has held since 2001. During his tenure, he has overseen the careers of Sheikh Mohammed’s many American-based Grade 1 winners, including Bernardini, It’s Tricky, Cocoa Beach, Music Note, Alpha, Questing and Better Lucky, among others. Prior to his position with Godolphin America, Bell was the president and general manager of Jonabell Farm and a director of Cromwell Bloodstock Agency and Cromwell Insurance Agency.


A 1976 graduate of the University of Arizona, Bell is involved with numerous community and racing industry charities. Bell oversees the Godolphin America charitable giving program and has held various positions on industry and community boards, including The Jockey Club, Keeneland Association, Fayette Alliance, Thoroughbred Club of America and Kentucky Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders Association, among others. He is also a past president of the Thoroughbred Aftercare Alliance.


Boehning, who was previously on the Museum’s advisory board, is a Partner in the litigation department at the law firm of Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison LLP. His practice includes commercial and civil litigation matters, insurance counseling and litigation, criminal and regulatory inquiries, internal investigations and international arbitrations.


Boehning received both his Bachelor of Arts in Political Science in 1987 and his Master of Science in Public Policy Analysis in 1988 from the University of Rochester, where he was a Rochester National Scholar. He then worked as a Budget Fellow with the New York State Executive Department’s Division of the Budget before earning his J.D. from Washington University School of Law in 1994. Boehning has been recognized in distinguished legal rankings, including Chambers USA, Chambers Global and Benchmark Litigation.


Boehning is on the Board of Trustees for the University of Rochester, where he also serves as chair of the National Council for the College of Arts, Sciences & Engineering. He is a member of the National Council at Washington University School of Law as well as the Dean’s Advisory Council at the University of Michigan School of Law, where he has served as an adjunct professor. Boehning is involved in thoroughbred racing as an owner, campaigning horses as Blue Bison Stable.


Hieronymus is the director of broadcast services for Keeneland, a position he has held since July of 2000. His roles include producing and directing live coverage of racing and sales for Keeneland and for local, regional and national TV networks. He designed the first high-definition control room for a thoroughbred racetrack in North America and has directed award-winning commercials for multiple advertising agencies and horse farms. In 2004, he was awarded an Eclipse Award, for television achievement. In 2014, his broadcast department at Keeneland was recognized with its seventh International Simulcast Award for outstanding racing live production from the Thoroughbred Racing Association.


Prior to joining Keeneland, Hieronymus, who studied telecommunications at the University of Kentucky, worked for Hammond Communications Group as vice president of production. He was with Hammond at its inception in 1984 and instrumental in its growth and success, serving 19 years in video and film production with the company. As a multiple award-winning producer, director and editor, Hieronymus was selected as director of photography for the Churchill Downs Kentucky Derby Museum film “The Greatest Race,” which plays today at that historic track. He is actively involved with the American Diabetes Association, serves on the Transylvania University Parent Council, LexArts Board, SummerFest Board and is an ex-officio member to the Kentucky Film Commission.